A Designers Home…..it’s not so different than your own!

When people ask me what I do for a living, I sometimes don’t know how to answer.  I’ve spent a very large part of my life being an interior designer for numerous companies, HNTB, Gensler, Ware Malcomb and my own company, Logan Ramaker in Indianapolis. Now I spend most of my time writing and volunteering, with the occasional coaching client. My days are busy and filled with doing what I love and finally, after all these years, just enjoying my home. My life in Southern California is filled with family and the challenge of making new friends.  I’m a busy girl! I don’t think I’ve ever been happier!

As the average designer knows, we have access to the finest furniture and finishes around.  We are exposed daily to the some of the most magnificent pieces of furniture and lighting in the world from some of the most exciting and innovative manufacturers.  So much to choose from, so little time and in the case of most of us, so little money on which to spend for the luxuries we so covet.  All of these things come with a price that even at designer net pricing, can be out of our means.  Commercial interior designers and architects are notoriously underpaid and overworked!  Do I hear an amen from those of you out there who know what I mean?  All of that being said, most designers live very normally, our homes are usually nice, and comfortable.  I think most people would be surprised at how simply we all live.

I thought I’d share some photos with you.

The front entry.  I have purchased architectural salvage from different cities where we have lived. It’s been fun moving it all around from city to city, and it’s sometimes been hard to explain to the movers what the pieces really are, and why we’re carting around bits of old buildings.

This little cafe table and chairs used to sit on our front porch in the Bay Area.  We had wonderful views of San Francisco, now it is a place holder for the front patio.  It always will remind me of good times in the Bay Area, and wine on the front porch at sunset!

This is the entry hall at the front door.  I love this portrait of Jamie’s dad, which we reframed as a Father’s Day gift from all of us. He loved it.  The other pieces are from Indiana artists, Carl Pope, James Cunningham and an artist I can’t remember. oops!

Looking down the entry hall, towards the kitchen.  The artwork is by Will Northener and Rosemary Logan (my fabulous Aunt!).

From Living Room into Dining area, I waited a long time for my Peacock Chairs!  Thirty years to be exact.  That was the very first time I saw them, and it was instant love.

My expansive dream kitchen!  The Michael Graves tea kettle was a gift to me over 26 years ago! It’s a classic!

The peony’s remind me of Indiana in the summertime, minus the ants! The covered table was just an old laminate top with Falcon base. Can’t wait to be rid of that old table.  Looking for something a bit more transitional.

The lighted niche is a real extravagance.  The glass shelves are 1/2″ think, and simply beautiful! The bookcases at the far end are from Room and Board.  The small wood stool is from a small shop in Berkeley, it’s a counterpoint for an Eames walnut stool at the other end.

Master Bath/Shower.  The light well is great because we don’t have a window in this space.  Another one of those 1/2″ thick shelves.

Guest Bath.  The artwork is rendered details from Gaudi’s architecture in Barcelona. All different sizes, but matted and framed the same way.  I think it give nice continuity to the pictures.

Things are always changing……stay tuned!

 

About Amy Ramaker IIDA, LEED ap, CPC

Amy has worked in the field of Commercial Architecture as an Interior Designer and Design Director, for such notable firms as Gensler, HNTB, and Ware Malcomb. She has served as principal of her own architecture and interior design firm, and as Design Director for a venerable Steelcase Dealership in the Midwest. Her projects have ranged from the 1,000,000 sq.ft. Indiana Government Center, to a 850 sq. ft. coffee kiosk prototype. Amy is a Certified Professional Coach, a professional member of IIDA, NICDQ and is a LEED AP. She is currently piecing together stories of life, love and loss, taking her creative ride down a new road.
This entry was posted in Interior Design. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Designers Home…..it’s not so different than your own!

  1. Susan Watts says:

    Amy, you are amazing. I wish I had a tenth of your talents! This is a wonderful blog.
    You have so much to offer people with your eye and skills. Keep this up and the
    pictures are fabulous!
    Susan

Leave a Reply

